Good day to you, Friends! :)

IMG_0926

How are you? I hope you’re all doing really well!  Sending my positive juju vibes to anyone who isn’t, though! *star sprinkles abound*

Spring is here, and summer is just around the corner!  With that thought in mind, I decided to create some really vivid, bright and warm new watercolor pieces.  I’ve been working on quite a few new projects these days.  (And I’ve also got new totally rad glasses, as you no doubt noticed in the above picture, haha!)  I’ve got two shows coming up (May 20th and June 2nd) and I’ve been creating new shop stock for Etsy as well!

My latest paintings have been playing with a new style and design as well.  Thanks to the use of a medium called Liquid Latex, I’ve been able to get some super white outlines without the use of gel pens, acrylic paint or inks.  The process involves creating an original illustration with the liquid latex medium, allowing it to dry on the watercolor paper, and then painting over the top of it.  The exposed paper absorbs the watercolor pigments, and the latest areas remain unaffected.  Once the paint is dry, I can peel off the liquid latex (WHICH BY THE WAY IS THE MOST SATISFYING THING EVER) and underneath are crisp, clean white lines!  It gives the watercolor pieces a whole new vibe and energy.

Here’s some of preview images my vivid little works in progress.  These are all taken at different stages of the liquid latex and painting process.

What do you think of this new style?

 

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

